Arizona Driving Laws Arizona, just like every other state throughout the United States, has traffic laws, rules and regulations that drivers must abide by. From speeding laws to driving under the influence laws, in this article we will discuss the various traffic laws in Arizona.   

Speed Limits

Speed limits throughout Arizona vary based on each road throughout the state. Driving over the posted speed limit is breaking the law and a traffic ticket can be issued. There are even harsher penalties for speeding in school zones.  Arizona also has a criminal speeding law which if broken, can result in an arrest and jail time. Criminal speeding in Arizona is defined as speeding 35 miles per hour over the speed limit as you approach a school zone, exceeding the speed limit by 20 miles per hour in business or residential areas, or exceeding 85 miles per hour at any time.   

Hands Free Law

Arizona has a ‘hands free law’ that makes using an electronic device while driving against the law, unless the device is connected to a ‘hands free’ device – such as a headset or connected to the vehicle’s radio system. This means that you can’t hold your phone or text while driving. If caught breaking this law, hefty fines can be issued.   

D.U.I. (Driving Under The Influence)

Arizona has a very strict D.U.I. law and if broken, jail time, license suspension and large fines can be issued.  For your first offense of driving under the influence, a driver will face at least 10 days in jail and a minimum fine of $1,250. In addition, you will be forced to undergo an alcohol treatment program, have a certified ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle and complete some sort of community service.  A second offense will have you complete at least 90 days in jail and fined a minimum of $3,000. Your license will be revoked for a period of 12-months and you will have to attend an alcohol treatment program. Just like your first offense, a certified ignition interlock device will be installed in your vehicle and community service will be ordered. It’s always best practice, no matter where you are driving, to never get behind the wheel if you have consumed alcohol or drugs. In addition to all of the legal issues you will have coming your way, the financial burden of a D.U.I. is on average, $10,000 in America.  These are just some of the most common traffic laws in Arizona, but they are very important to know about. Traffic laws, rules and regulations are always changing, so it’s best to make sure you are up to date with current information. Taking an Arizona defensive driving course is always a great way to get a refresher on state traffic laws.