Rules and Regulations In Texas

Driving in Texas is very similar to driving anywhere else in the United States. They have traffic laws, rules and regulations that must be abided by, or you could face legal consequences.

 

Here are some of the most common Texas driving laws:

Seatbelt Laws: Just like every other state in the United States, Texas has a seatbelt law and it’s enforced heavily. Every occupant inside of a moving vehicle must have a seatbelt on and children under 8 years old must be secured in a child safety seat. A driver can receive a traffic ticket and fine for not being buckled up. 

Open Container Law: Texas has an open container law on the books which means that even if you are not drinking, you are not allowed to have an open can or bottle of alcohol inside of a vehicle. 

Distracted Driving: Distracted driving is a major issue across America. With technology such as cell phones and in car electronics, distracted driving is at an all time high. Texas has a distracted driving law which states that texting and talking on the phone while driving is against the law. You can talk on the phone while driving only if you have a hands free device. Phones should only be used for emergencies while driving. 

Signal Lights: You must always use the appropriate turn signals in advance before turning or changing lanes. At night and during times of low visibility, headlights are required. 

Speeding: Texas has very strict policies and laws in regards to speeding. Going over the posted speed limit can result in a traffic ticket and large fine. 

The traffic laws in Texas are always changing and it’s best to stay up to date as to what those laws are. This will not only keep you safe on the road, but it will allow you a better chance of avoiding a traffic violation. 

A great way to stay up to date with all the state traffic laws in Texas is taking a defensive driving course. 

 

Texas Speeding Penalties

Texas has tiered speed limit fines, which are quite expensive. When a driver is caught by law enforcement driving over the posted speed limit, they can receive a traffic violation and fine. Even if you are going over the posted speed limit by just a few miles per hour. Here is what the tiered speed limit fines look like:

  • 1-5 miles per hour over speed limit: $165.
  • 6-9 miles per hour over speed limit: $180.
  • 10-14 miles per hour over speed limit: $195.
  • 15-19 miles per hour over speed limit: $240.
  • 20-29 miles per hour over speed limit: $265.
  • 30 miles or more per hour over speed limit: $300.

Texas has various consequence levels in regards to speeding tickets also. They are separated into classes. Class C misdemeanor, class B and class A. 

A Class C misdemeanor is the least severe class of violation. This is typically given to those who drive below 10 mph over the posted speed limit. A fine, traffic ticket and points added to your driving record will be issued, but jail time is typically not given. 

A class B misdemeanor and class A are more serious charges. Fines, traffic tickets, points added to your license and in some cases, jail time can be issued. These misdemeanors are usually for those driving 25 mph over the posted speed limit. 

Depending on how serious a speeding charge is, the court may recommend that you attend a defensive driver safety course.