If you are under the age of 18 and are looking to start driving in Florida, you must obtain a learner’s permit prior to getting your official license.
We will go over all that you need to know in order to do just that!
In order to get a Florida driving learner’s permit, you will need to meet the following requirements:
- Provide legal documentation proving your identity and residence. A social security number and birth certificate is typically required.
- Parental Consent Form: If you are under 18 years old, you must have a signed and notarized Parental Consent Form (HSMV Form 71001) from a parent or legal guardian.
- Pass a vision and hearing test
- Complete a four-hour drug and alcohol course. This course must be approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
- Pass the learner’s permit test. This test consists of 50 multiple-choice questions covering Florida traffic laws, traffic controls, and safe driving practices. You must get at least 40 of the 50 questions correct (80 percent) to pass.
Driver’s Education (Driver’s Ed)
You must complete the Florida TSLAE four hour course. This covers traffic laws and safe driving procedures that are needed to operate a motor vehicle in Florida.
There are various online courses that are governed by the state of Florida that you can take also. When you are ready to take the final exam, you must have a parent or guardian acknowledge that you have completed it. This will need to be notarized.
Applying For Your Learner’s Permit
Once the coursework and exam has been passed, you will need to visit your local driver’s office in order to apply for your learner’s permit.
You will need to bring various documents with you in order to complete the application. Those documents are as follows:
- Notarized parental proctoring form and parental consent form
- Social security card/number
- Proof of citizenships – birth certificate
- Two documents verifying you are a resident of Florida
What To Do After You Receive Your Learner’s Permit
Florida has some specific rules and regulations in regards to driving with your learner’s permit.
You can only drive a vehicle with a passenger who is 21 years of age or older and they must be in the front passenger seat at all times. They can never sit in the back.
During the first 3-months of having your learner’s permit, you are only allowed to drive during the daytime. After the 3-month period is up, you can drive in the evening, but only between the hours of 6p.m. and 10.pm.
You can not have a moving violation or traffic violation for the full year that you have your learner’s permit.
You must complete at least 50-hours of driving and 10 of those hours have to be night time driving.
Once you are finished all of your required driving time, you will need a parent or guardian sign off on your driving log. This shows the state of Florida that you did in fact complete the required driving time.