In order to obtain a driver license in New York state you must take and complete a 5- hour pre-licensing course. The course teaches new drivers how to become safe and responsible drivers. In addition, new drivers will learn the traffic laws of New York state and many defensive driving techniques to help them and others safe on the road. 

 

Details On The Course

The New York Pre-Licensing course is fully approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. The course is separated into modules with each module covering a certain topic pertaining to driving, defensive driving, traffic laws and more. 

The course is available to take online, so you are able to learn from the comfort of your own home and learn at your own pace. 

At the end of each module there will be a short quiz. In order to pass the module and move on to the next, you must score at least 70%. You will be given three chances to pass each quiz. If you are unable to pass the quiz in three attempts, you will not be able to continue the course and you will be forced to re-register and start over. The course does not have a final exam, so passing the course is solely based on passing each quiz at the end of each module. 

When you register for the course you will have 30 calendar days to complete the course. After you complete and pass the course, you will have one full year to schedule your driver license road test.

 

Completing The Course

When you pass the course you will be presented (emailed) a certificate of completion. That certificate of completion is also automatically forwarded to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. That information will be entered into their database and then you will have one year to schedule your road test in order to obtain your driver license. 

 

Requirements

All new drivers 18 years and older must complete the 5-hour pre-licensing course prior to scheduling their driver license road test. If a new driver is under the age of 18 when they register and pay for the course, completion of the course will not be processed by the state of New York and no refund will be issued. 

You must have a valid New York drivers permit complete with a photo prior to registering for the course. 

Those under the age of 18 who hold a junior driver license or junior motorcycle license are intelligible to take the 5-hour pre-licensing online course. They will have to attend the course in person, in a classroom setting.

Author

  • Jeff Suck

    Experienced Content Editor with expertise in digital content and SEO. With a background in English Literature, he excels in enhancing narratives and optimizing online content for diverse audiences.