Complete The TLSAE 4-Hour Course In the state of Florida all new drivers are required to take and complete the 4-hour TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) driving course. You are unable to obtain a Florida learner’s permit without completing this course.  Once the course is taken and completed, the next step is applying for your learner’s permit. For this, you will have to go to your local DMV office. DMV offices can be quite busy and most will allow you to schedule an appointment in advance. When you go to the DMV you will need the following documents with you. 
  • Your Legal Florida Address
  • Social Security Number
  • Birth Certificate 
  • TLSAE Certification of Completion 
  For minors applying for their learner’s permit a parent will have to fill out the State of Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Parental Consent for a Driver Application of a Minor form.  After those steps are completed, you will take a simple vision test and then pay a permit fee which is required to issue you a learner’s permit.  When you receive your learner’s permit, there are a set of driving rules that all learner’s permit holders must follow.   
  • During the first three months of holding your learner’s permit, you are only permitted to drive during daylight hours. 
  • After three months you are allowed to drive between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.. 
  • Under no circumstances are you allowed to drive in a vehicle alone while holding your learner’s permit. You must always drive with someone who holds a valid driver’s license and is at least 21 years old. They must sit in the passenger seat at all times.